I would like to thank the U.S. government sponsors of this study: the National Science Foundation, the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), the Office of the Secretary of Defense (OSD), the Office of Naval Research, the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency, and the National Aeronautics and Space Administration. Special thanks are due to our sponsor representatives who traveled with the panel in Japan and Europe,, and who authored many of the site reports included in appendices C and D: Dennis Friday and Nader Moayeri (NIST), Leo Young (OSD), and Joanne Maurice (AFOSR). We are very much indebted to our panel chair, Anthony Ephremides, for his leadership over the course of the study. All of the panelists are due great credit for their contributions of time and intellect. It was both an honor and a pleasure to work with this

Geoffrey M. Holdridge, WTEC Division Director and ITRI Series Editor

Published: July 2000; WTEC Hyper-Librarian