John M. Rowell (Panel Chair)

Dr. Rowell, President of John Rowell, Inc., is a consultant to the superconductor industry. He worked at Bell Telephone Laboratories for 23 years as a scientist, department head, and director. At Bellcore for 5 years he was Assistant Vice President of Solid State Science and Technology. He then joined Conductus, a startup company formed after the discovery of high temperature superconductivity, where he worked for 6 years as Chief Technical Officer. With P.W. Anderson he made the first observation of the Josephson Effect and holds the first patent granted for an electronics application of that effect. With W.L McMillan he developed tunneling spectroscopy. With M. Gurvitch and a number of Bell Labs colleagues, he invented the niobium/aluminum trilayer process, which is now used universally for SQUIDs and digital circuit fabrication. He graduated from Oxford University (BS, MS, PhD). He was awarded the Fritz London Memorial Low Temperature Physics Prize with W.L. McMillan, is a Fellow of the Royal Society, and is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and of the National Academy of Engineering.

Malcolm R. Beasley

Malcolm R. Beasley is Professor of Applied Physics (and Electrical Engineering by courtesy) at Stanford University. He is also currently the director of the Center for Materials Research at Stanford. He served previously on the faculty at Harvard University and has been at Stanford since 1974. He received both his undergraduate and PhD degrees at Cornell University. His research interests are in materials physics with an emphasis on superconductivity and superconducting materials. Professor Beasley is currently the Chair of the Defense Sciences Research Council of the U.S. Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA). He is a member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences, and a fellow of the American Physical Society, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Richard W. Ralston

Dr. Ralston received his PhD in Applied Physics from Yale University in 1971 and has been at MIT Lincoln Laboratory since then, where he has participated in the development of tunable diode lasers, surface-acoustic-wave filters, charge-coupled devices, and superconductive components. In 1996 he was appointed Associate Head of the Solid State Division and a member of the Lincoln Laboratory Steering Committee. He oversees a broad range of research directed at extending the performance of advanced optoelectronic devices and electronic circuits with a goal of enabling new system applications. He also served as Principal Director of the Consortium for Superconducting Electronics (CSE) throughout its existence from 1989-1996. The CSE joined researchers at a number of universities and companies to create technology that is enabling practical applications of superconducting electronics. He is a senior member of the IEEE.

Published: August 1998; WTEC Hyper-Librarian