This panel was relatively small compared to most WTEC panels. Its members were Prof. Malcolm R. Beasley of Stanford University, Dr. Richard Ralston of the MIT Lincoln Laboratory (who was also a member of the 1989 panel), and Dr. John M. Rowell, who is a consultant to the superconductor industry (John Rowell, Inc.) and was chairman of the panel. The panelists were accompanied on their trip to Japan by Dr. George Gamota of WTEC, Dr. Martin Nisenoff of the Naval Research Laboratory (NRL), and Dr. Frank Patten of DARPA. NSF and DARPA funded the work of the panel.

Published: July 1998; WTEC Hyper-Librarian