I would like to thank the U.S. government sponsors of this study: the National Science Foundation, the Air Force Office of Scientific Research, the Office of Naval Research, the Department of Commerce (both the National Institute of Standards and Technology and the Office of Technology Policy), the Department of Energy, the National Institutes of Health, and the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (Ames Research Center). We are very much indebted to our panel chair, Richard Siegel, and to our co-chair, Evelyn Hu, for their dedication and leadership over the course of the study. All of the panelists are due great credit for their invaluable contributions of time and intellect to the project. It was both an honor and a pleasure to work with such an illustrious and affable group. Finally, we are extremely grateful to all of our hosts and correspondents around the world who took the time to share their work with us, as well as their insights and vision of the future of this exciting field.


Geoffrey M. Holdridge
WTEC Division Director and ITRI Series Editor

Published: September 1999; WTEC Hyper-Librarian